The City of Leicester

The English city of Leicester is located within the county of Leicestershire and has a population of approximately 373,300.

Most of Leicester is governed by City of Leicester (B) council with the remainder being within the areas of Blaby District council, Harborough District council, Charnwood District (B) council and Oadby and Wigston District (B) council (in order).

Leicester is policed by Leicestershire Police

The largest Parliamentary Constituency in Leicester is Leicester South (30.73%) with the remainder being in Leicester West (28.65%), Leicester East (27.92%), South Leicestershire (6.71%), Charnwood (3.72%) and Rutland and Melton (1.63%).

Do you know where the name Leicester comes from?

What's it like to live here?

Ask the community a question about Leicester.


Map of the city of Leicester