The City of Liverpool

The English city of Liverpool is mostly within the county of Merseyside and has a population of approximately 497,100.

Most of Liverpool is governed by Liverpool District (B) council with the remainder being within the areas of Knowsley District (B) council, Sefton District (B) council, St. Helens District (B) council, Wirral District (B) council and Halton (B) council (in order).

Most of Liverpool is policed by Merseyside Police with the remainder being policed by Cheshire Police

The largest Parliamentary Constituency in Liverpool is Liverpool, Riverside (22.84%) with the remainder being in Garston and Halewood (20.05%), Liverpool, Walton (18.80%), Liverpool, West Derby (18.33%), Liverpool, Wavertree (17.85%) and Knowsley (1.25%).

Do you know where the name Liverpool comes from?

What's it like to live here?

Ask the community a question about Liverpool.


Map of the city of Liverpool